To Trick and Treat or Not……..

An ongoing battle in our family of whether or not to celebrate Halloween. Last year we did not, and the year before we dressed our Princess up in a giraffee costume (to young to remember). Well I think I am finally ok with the idea of not. I’m sure many question why or why not and many other things. I just believe for me and our family this is a holiday we will be skipping yearly. I have also come to the solution that we should not substitute the holiday either. As we venture through this season may our family bring you Praise. I will be posting pictures as we enjoy the harvest season!!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. meljoy531
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 15:44:44

    Growing up my life sounded just like your blog post. When Josh & I got married I was the one who didn’t really want to let my kids dress & he was the one who really changed my mind. As Christians we are suppose to be the “light” for the dark. And he reminded me this is going to be a night where almost all our neighbors will be home. This may be the only time we actually get to show them who we are and get to see them face to face. What are we saying turning off our lights and not participating? That we are “those people”? I want to be approachable and friendly to all our neighbors. And through the year there are many neughbors we rarely see. His family used to package the candy with tracks and info on their church. I just love how they handled it I wanted our kids to do the same. And of course dressing up is fun. Anyways, I had to share that because I love their perspective on it. 🙂

    Reply

  2. lovecontagious
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 13:10:14

    I do agree do to an extent and although will miss the innocence of the day that we think of it as I cannot see my family celebrating something of evil. It says in Ephesians 5:11 “Have nothing to do with the fruitless deeds of darkness, but rather expose them.” and in Romans 12:21 it says, “Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.”
    So although i would love to dress my kids up in cutesy outfits and let them be innocent and have fun i have come to the conclusion that it just isn’t worth it. Not that i don’t want to let them have fun and i know they would not be part of the darkness. BUt just walking them through our neighborhood yesterday Semira asked all these questions of all these monsters on front lawns she was seeing. She didn’t like it. Too much emphasis on death and not eternal life.
    But…I do want to thank you so much for opening my eyes to the fact that i can’t just shut my doors and turn off the lights. As much as i want to act as if the day never existed i want to do soemthing to shine God’s light. So no we wont dress up, and no we wont answer our door, but Thanks to you our new tradition will be filling bags of candy and inserting childrens tracs in them. I found some fun ones online and ordered them. For our family this will be a good teaching experience for my kids. We cannot stop Halloween but maybe we can win some!!! 🙂 Thanks for opening my eyes, our Halloween will be forever changed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,075 other followers

Easy Peasy All-in-One Homeschool

A complete, free online Christian homeschool curriculum for your family and mine

getting vegumacated

a 6 week (and most likely painful) transition to greener and more compassionate eating.

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

MedinaMom

I'm just as clueless as you feel...but I'm homeschooling anyway

Natasha Metzler

learning to delight in a promise-making God

terime's Blog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Cool Vybes

To Love is to Live, To write on Love is to find contentment in Life

Austins in Africa

Life is an adventure

Practical Pages

Practical tips, projects, plans, pages & art ideas for homeschooling!

Contagious Love

Living a life of Love

Mommahopper

Family, Faith, Homeschooling, Adoption, Traveling, Foster Care, Cleaning, Life

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

